BOOSTer Summits

BOOST is hosting monthly half-day and full-day online BOOSTer Summits. Join us and our partners in our online community. Certificate available upon completion.

Friday, October 30, 2020

SEL BOOSTer Summit with Sanford Inspire

8:30am-12:30pm PDT
9:30am-1:30pm MDT
10:30am-2:30pm CDT
11:30pm-3:30pm EDT
No Cost

Strategies for Engaging with Parents
Learn strategies that help educators reach out and build positive relationships with families. Research has repeatedly shown a strong, positive relationship between family involvement and student achievement. In this module, you will learn concrete strategies for engaging families and building partnerships to support students.
*Certificate available upon completion of the module.

Teaching Students Empathy
Consider the impact on learning and discover ways to model, establish, and nurture empathy in your classroom throughout the year. Participants will learn what empathy is, why it’s important to foster in the classroom, and what specific actions you can take to develop a more empathic environment.
*Certificate available upon completion of the module.

Coping with Teacher Stress
Examine the causes and symptoms of educator stress and explore a variety of strategies to help cope with it. Stress is natural in teaching. This module includes strategies to help you thoughtfully cope with work-related stress and improve your physical and mental well-being.
*Certificate available upon completion of the module.

Featured Speakers:

Sarah Frayer, Teacher, Friendship Woodridge International School, Washington D.C.

Sarah Frayer is an award-winning teacher, education consultant, and public speaker with over 10 years of experience as a teacher, lead summer school curriculum developer, team lead, and instructional coach. She believes every child has the mind to learn and the power to succeed and vows to continue to light the fire in every student she comes in contact with on her journey in education.

Darla Kannas, Teacher, Mellette Elementary, Watertown, SD

Darla is a wife, a mother, and a second-grade teacher at Mellette Elementary School in Watertown, South Dakota. Prior to teaching, Darla spent several years working in the Human Resources and Insurance fields, and earned her teaching degree at age 40, having returned to college a third time as a nontraditional student. Darla’s passion and top priority is educating the whole child and developing relationships with her students and their families. Her interests outside of teaching include spending time with her family, cooking, yoga, and calm water kayaking. Professional accolades include Roosevelt Elementary Teacher of the Year, Roosevelt Elementary Spark Plug Award Winner, and the 2020 Sanford Teacher Award Winner for South Dakota. She is a graduate of Northern State University and Mount Marty College.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER 

 


Friday, December 4, 2020

8:30am-12:00pm PST
9:30am-1:00pm MDT
10:30am-2:00pm CDT
11:30pm-3:00pm EDT
No Cost

BOOSTer Summit: Building Resiliency for Educators, Students, and Families with Sanford Harmony

Featured Speaker: Dr. Robin Elliott, Director of Sanford Education Programs at Long Island University- Brooklyn Campus, Brooklyn, NY

Learn strategies to build resilience within yourself as well as with the students and families you serve. In order to provide meaningful support to students, educators must first understand what trauma does to kids. We will examine how trauma affects children biologically, emotionally, and academically and how we can support our students and families to build skills to thrive in challenging times.
*Certificate available upon completion of the module.

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER 

    

Coming Soon!

Supporting LGBTQ Youth to THRIVE

Learn how to be an ally, establish LGBTQ-inclusive cultures, identify anti-LGBTQ behaviors and harassment, and participate in constructive dialogue around strategies to foster a sense of inclusion for LGBTQ students.

A Conversation on Race and Equity